Three Sites to Follow

This blog begins as an assignment for my Learning Theories and Instruction class at Walden University. My task is to identify and link to three blogs that contain relevant content that I hope will enhance my learning and growth as an instructional designer.

The Mobile Learner

I find this blog by Rob De Lorenzo fascinating because of its discussions of the use of mobile devices in student learning. I believe that students want to learn everywhere, not just within the walls of a brick and mortar classroom. Mobile devices allow students to collaborate with each other, to research topics at their convenience using the internet, and to listen to podcasts or audio books to continue their learning wherever they travel.

I purchased an iPhone two months ago and have stopped listening to the radio in my car. I subscribe to podcasts such as This Week in Tech and recently completed the audio book, Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell. I embrace the opportunity to learn on the go. I believe I need to learn more about mobile learning so I can add this element to courses I design.

Instructional Design and Development Blog

This site is maintained by staff members of the Instructional Design and Development department at DePaul University. To quote, “The site’s primary goal is to provide information on enhancing instruction through the use of technology.” I like the focus on the use of technology for the same reason I like The Mobile Learner. I believe students are increasing their use of technology to further their studies and learning outside of a traditional classroom.

I particularly enjoyed the post titled, Teaching Frustrations: Why Don’t Students Follow My (Clearly-Labeled, Logically Organized, and Bold/Highlighted/Flashing) Instructions? by Sarah Brown. An instructor may have the best intentions to write exceptionally clear instructions for online learning. However, students may read or scan online material in a fashion that does not match the presentation of the instructor’s choosing. This post makes me appreciate the efforts of Walden University to educate its new students on how to learn online. New students are given a Student Readiness Orientation course to help them become proficient in navigating an online classroom.

Dangerously Irrelevant

The tagline for this blog by Scott McLeod drew me in. It is, “Ruminations on technology, leadership, and the future of our schools.” By now you can probably guess I like the technology focus of this blog. But it is the portion of the tagline, “the future of our schools” that captivates me most. In Learning Theories and Instruction, p.10-15, we see how much learning theory has grown since 1950. Since that time, learning theories applicable to the classroom gained prominence, cognitive manners of learning were studied more, and the perceived importance of social and cultural factors in learning grew.

Mr. McLeod’s blog has an exceptionally large number of posts. There are 104 posts in the “Teaching and Learning” category alone. I look forward to spending some time reading posts in these categories and others to learn more about “the future of our schools.”

References
Ormrod, J., Schunk, D., & Gredler, M. (2009). Learning Theories and Instruction (Laureate custom edition). New York: Pearson

Leave a Reply

